Rack of Goat

I have a love-hate relationship with my meat CSA.  I hate the lack of variety in some of the shipments. I have about 6 pounds of sirloin and flank steak in my freezer right now. My CSA divides cuts into three categories – ground, roast, and steak – with “steak” cuts being the high-end cuts from each species. Sirloin and flank are considered “steak” cuts, but they are a far cry from a bone-in Rib Eye or dry aged New York Strip. I have a hard time using the lower end steak cuts and am always a little disappointed when they show up in my box.

Despite this frustration, I love that my CSA forces me to try new things. Case in point: the two racks of goat I grilled up for Easter dinner.

The pre-CSA BBQ Esquire would never buy rack-of-anything, much less rack of goat. The rack is an incredibly expensive, and frankly, incredibly inefficient cut of meat. You pay $20-$30 per pound, and you’re getting mostly bone! I know I would never walk up to a meat counter and chose this cut. But when I opened my meat box and saw two goat racks, I got a little giddy.  I decided they would be perfect for Easter dinner.

My racks did not come frenched (i.e., with the meat and fat trimmed from the bones on the skinny side of the rack). I planned to french them myself, but when I saw the tiny little racks, I just couldn’t bring myself to cut any extra meat away. Again, I guess this was my cheap nature coming through.

I marinated the racks in a simple marinade of olive oil, garlic, thyme, and rosemary. I’ve learned that a marinade usually has an acidic element, such as citrus, to break down the meat fibers and tenderize the meat. I was a little worried that this recipe had only fat, no acid. After a little hemming and hawing I decided to go with it anyway, since my CSA goat is usually plenty tender.

I set up my Big Green Egg for direct grilling, at about 450 degrees.  After removing the racks from the marinade I seasoned them with salt, pepper, garlic salt, and a little cayenne.  I started with the rack meat side down for a 5 minute sear.  I then flipped them and cooked them for about 10 minutes longer.

GoatRack1

After about 15 minutes on the grill (total), I started checking temperature with my thermapen.  I ended up pulling them after about 20 minutes total, when they were at about 140 degrees.

GoatRack2

I ended up with a nice little sear on the top rack.  The meat also pulled away from the bone nicely.

GoatRack3

The goat was delicious!  The marinade retreated to the background and didn’t add much to the flavor profile, but the goat itself was so mildly delicious anything else might have been overpowering.  The three chops pictured above were taken from the leaner rack, which didn’t have much of a fat cap.  Honestly, the cap on the other rack made those chops a little cumbersome to eat.  Next time I attempt rack of lamb or goat, I will go ahead and french the rack.  I’ll just have to figure out some way to use the fat and meat I remove.

It was a beautiful Easter, and Mrs. Esquire and I ate like Kings and Queens with our two racks of goat.  I guess that really is the point of the CSA experience.  You won’t always get a box full of goat racks and bone-in Rib Eyes.  Sometimes, life gives you a flank steak.  But if you never eat flank steak and only eat rack of goat, the rack of goat will become ordinary.  I’ll try to remember this as I’m eating my way through the rest of the meat in my freezer.

Tags: , , , ,

About bbqesquire

I'm a Scandinavian Plaintiff's lawyer from Minnesota living in California. Despite that background, I've become a weekend warrior on my Big Green Egg. I've started this blog to share my successes, failures, and experiments with anyone who cares to read about them.

5 responses to “Rack of Goat”

  1. griffinsgrub says :

    Looks amazing!! I have yet to cook goat. Not even sure where I would find it, unless maybe at a Mexican meat market.

  2. Eric Marler says :

    Who do you use for your meat? Who is the CSA

    Thanks

    Eric Marler

    ________________________________

    • bbqesquire says :

      Thanks for reading! I was a member of the Marin Sun Farms meat CSA. I pre-purchased a year, which is running out in two months. I have a little catching up to do on my freezer, then I will decide whether I’m going to join them again, find someone new, or give the meat CSA a rest for awhile.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Rack of Goat Lives On | BBQ, Esquire - 04/10/2013

Leave a Reply

