Stuffed Peppers

The internet is an amazing thing.

I know that’s not a ground breaking statement.  But do you ever step back and think about what life used to be like before the internet?

There are so many recipes online!  I have a few grilling cookbooks, which I really enjoy and which inspire me.  However, I often find myself riding BART home, thinking about how I can use the food I have on hand to create an interesting dish.  With my phone and ten minutes of downtime on the train I can put together an idea for dinner.  The recipes I find online aren’t always the fanciest, but they are good enough to get me started.

These stuffed peppers were a BART-phone-recipe special.  My CSA shipment included these beautiful sweet peppers.

Of course I always have ground beef on hand from the meat CSA.  I browned some beef with onion and a collection of seasonings.  Then I mixed in salsa, white rice, and soft cheese.  I stuffed the peppers then topped them with cheese.

I set the Big Green Egg for indirect grilling and threw on some mesquite chips for smoke.  I grilled them at about 350 for 25 minutes or so.  Since the meat and rice are already cooked, the goal of grilling is just to soften up the peppers and melt the cheese to a nice, golden brown.

This recipe wasn’t especially quick, with browning the meat, cooking the rice, stuffing the peppers, and then grilling them.  However, I was able to work it into a weeknight without too much stress.  They were really good, and a fun way to use both the meat and vegetable CSA!

Tags: , , ,

About bbqesquire

I'm a Scandinavian Plaintiff's lawyer from Minnesota living in California. Despite that background, I've become a weekend warrior on my Big Green Egg. I've started this blog to share my successes, failures, and experiments with anyone who cares to read about them.

2 responses to “Stuffed Peppers”

  1. griffinsgrub says :

    Looks mighty tasty!!

Leave a Reply

