Double Level Grilling

Just a quick post to share a photo.  The other day I tried some double level grilling in my Mexican redware.

Those are mushrooms and onions on the top (for hamburgers) and potatoes and onions on the bottom.  My raised grill has hinged sides, allowing me to flip up half of the grill to reach the food underneath.  When it was time to stir the veggies I shuffled the top deck, flipped up half the raised grill, stirred the potatoes, then shuffled the top deck to the other side and stirred the other batch of potatoes.  It was pretty slick.

One takeaway from this – I was surprised at how much the restricted air flow reduced my temperature.  I’ve loaded down the grill with pork butts and brisket without noticing a difference.  I guess the reduced airflow has a bigger effect at higher temperatures.  This makes sense.  I just have to crank it up when I do this in the future.

Tags: , , , ,

About bbqesquire

I'm a Scandinavian Plaintiff's lawyer from Minnesota living in California. Despite that background, I've become a weekend warrior on my Big Green Egg. I've started this blog to share my successes, failures, and experiments with anyone who cares to read about them.

Leave a Reply

