T-Bone

This month’s meat CSA delivery included a couple of T-bone steaks.  As I pulled one out of the freezer recently, I realized I’d never grilled a T-bone for myself before.  Certainly, I’d eaten T-bone steaks, I’d just never bought one at the store.  Why not?

I know the reason why.  I have a little cheap streak that occasionally rears its head.  For example, when I was working construction as a kid I would buy warm 2 liter bottles of soda for $0.99 instead of a 32 oz fountain drink for $0.89.  I rode the bus long before I lived in a city where it was “cool” and practical.  I sometimes pull the stems off bell peppers in the grocery store so I don’t have to pay for them.  Mrs. Esquire is the same way.  When we traveled to China I couldn’t get her to stop bargaining over a $0.50 price difference so we could just get on with our day.  I guess we’re good for each other that way.

What does this have to do with the T-bone?  I think I’ve avoided T-bones because I couldn’t bring myself to pay good money for the bone.  Why pay for a steak with a bone in it when you can buy a rib eye or a New York strip?  But once again, that’s the great thing about a CSA.  It forces you to try different things.

And am I ever glad I grilled this T-bone.

This steak was great overall, but I’d forgotten how delicious the tenderloin section of the T-bone can be.  Just melt-in-your-mouth-delicious!  The best part?  I still have one more in the freezer!

As always, thanks for reading.

Tags: , , , , ,

About bbqesquire

I'm a Scandinavian Plaintiff's lawyer from Minnesota living in California. Despite that background, I've become a weekend warrior on my Big Green Egg. I've started this blog to share my successes, failures, and experiments with anyone who cares to read about them.

Leave a Reply

