Chocolate Chip Cookies

It’s been awhile since I baked on my Big Green Egg.  I’ll admit, I didn’t come back to baking willingly.  Mrs. Esquire kind of pushed me towards making these cookies.  I’m so glad she did, though.  This is my new favorite cookie recipe.

I found the recipe on Take A Megabite.  The key to this recipe is the olive oil.   In the Esquire household we like olive oil on everything.  It works especially well for cookies on the BGE, leading to nice, crisp edges and light, fluffy cookie.

I prepared the batter per the recipe, the headed outside to the Big Green Egg.  I set myself up with batter and wax paper on the right side of the grill and cooling rack on the left side.  I set the BGE for indirect cooking (plate setter legs up) and put a pizza stone on the grill.  I warmed the grill (with the stone in place) to about 375.

Here are the cookies on the grill.  The first batch took about 20 minutes or so.  As a side note, you can see some collateral damage on my pampered chef pizza stone.  Two lessons learned on pizza night awhile back: 1) pampered chef stoneware is thinner than BGE stoneware, and 2) never set a room temperature stone on a 600 degree fire!

The cook time on the cookies shortened with each batch.  By the end I was pulling them at about 12-15 minutes.  The key is to just keep checking them.

The cookies had a nice, smokey flavor, as you’d expect from the grill.  They also had crispy edges and a light, almost cake-like texture.  They were quite unique, and really good.

I made a double batch of cookies, and good thing, too.  I absolutely pounded through them!  For the good of my waistline I need to use this recipe sparingly!

Recipe Recap (from Take a Megabite)

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 t kosher salt
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 2 eggs
  • 1-2 T milk, optional
  • 1 heaping cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Whisk together the flour, salt, and baking soda. Using an electric mixer, beat together the olive oil, vanilla, and sugars until it looks like wet sand. Add the eggs one at  a time and beat until mixed in completely. With the mixer on low beat in the flour mixture gradually until just mixed. Add a tablespoon or two of milk if the batter is too dry. If the batter is too wet, add flour a tablespoon at a time until handle-able.  Stir in the chocolate chips.

Preheat Big Green Egg to 375, set for indirect cooking.  Place spoonfuls of batter directly on warmed stone.  Cook for 12-20 minutes, until top of cookie just begins to brown.

Tags: , , ,

About bbqesquire

I'm a Scandinavian Plaintiff's lawyer from Minnesota living in California. Despite that background, I've become a weekend warrior on my Big Green Egg. I've started this blog to share my successes, failures, and experiments with anyone who cares to read about them.

8 responses to “Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Debbie says :

    They look delicious – cake like more than crunchy?

  2. griffinsgrub says :

    Making cookies on the Egg is fun, isn’t it? Last time I did some, I went place setter legs down and then just elevated my cookie sheet off the placesetter with the 3 green feet. Mine didn’t taste smokey at all. Wonder if it was just type of charcoal used?

    • bbqesquire says :

      I need to try your trick of going legs down on the plate setter and elevating the stone with the green feet. I think I still have them laying around somewhere. I always think of it too late!

      As for the smoke, I get more of it the second or third day. I find that sometimes – fresh off the egg, the smoke flavor almost gets lost. I really comes out the second day.

  3. griffinsgrub says :

    I understand that. I firmly believe that cooking over live fire, charcoal or lump desensitizes you to the smokey flavor in the food. I think it used to be worse when I had an old offset smoker. A shower and a change of clothes helps, sometimes just washing your face and rinsing out your hair helps if you don’t have the time. Try that out sometime. Great job on the cookies.

  4. R Taylor says :

    This looks yummy and it’s amazing how you still get that cake like texture despite using a grill. Good work on this 🙂

Leave a Reply

