Pork for All

I have to chime in on the recent gay marriage amendment in North Carolina.  Unfortunately, I’ll always feel a pang of sorrow and shame when I whip up my Carolina-style pulled pork sauce.  I truly believe that gay marriage is our generation’s civil rights movement.  Someday we will look back on this era and wonder how we could have condoned such overt discrimination, using the power of the majority to strip rights from the minority.

Of course, North Carolina is not alone.  California passed Proposition 8 four years ago.  That law has been overturned at the district court level, however, and has begun the long road to eventual Supreme Court review.  I hope Minnesotans look deep within their hearts before voting in November on the gay marriage amendment in that state.

On a brighter note, I have continued to revise my carolina sauce from the recipe I outlined here.  I used the information and inspiration I gathered during my recent trip to Charlotte in tweaking the recipe.  During a recent cook, I changed three things: 1) I used more liquid in the drip pan; 2) I used a 2-1 mixture of apple cider vinegar to white vinegar in the sauce; and 3) I cut the heat in half.  I also gave myself the time to reach 200 degrees and then allowed the meat to rest for two hours wrapped in heavy duty tinfoil and towels and placed in a cooler.  I was really happy with the results.  Way better than my last pull.  I’m looking forward to trying it again, soon!  Pulled pork for all!

Tags: , , , ,

About bbqesquire

I'm a Scandinavian Plaintiff's lawyer from Minnesota living in California. Despite that background, I've become a weekend warrior on my Big Green Egg. I've started this blog to share my successes, failures, and experiments with anyone who cares to read about them.

Leave a Reply

