Four Dishes, One Egg

I sometimes dream about my ideal backyard.  I would love to have a full outdoor kitchen.  Besides a functional sink, prep area, and storage, it would be equipped with a variety of grills.  I’d need a Weber, a big fancy smoker, a Large Big Green Egg, and an Extra Large Big Green Egg.  I often describe this future outdoor kitchen to Mrs. Esquire and she always has the same response.  Who is going to eat all this food?!?!  (The answer, of course, could be you, gentle reader.  Move to San Francisco if you don’t live here already.)

In reality, however, it doesn’t take much to bring my large Big Green Egg to capacity.  This is especially true when I’m making foods with varying cook times and which require lots of flipping or stirring.

On that note, I’m pretty proud of a recent four course meal I prepared on the BGE.  The meal included potatoes and onions, zucchini and squash, ribeye steaks, and halibut steaks.

The “order of operations” was the subject of much discussion and debate as I warmed up the grill.  A few considerations: the steaks needed to be directly on the cast iron grill.  The potatoes needed the longest cook time, and the zucchini and squash were the quickest.  The fish was in tinfoil and was the only part of the meal that didn’t need attention while on the grill.

I began with the potatoes and onions.  These potatoes actually took awhile – perhaps because I raised them and perhaps because I cut them into fairly large chunks.  I pulled them after almost 40 minutes and wrapped the stones in tinfoil.  They redware really retains the heat.

As the potatoes cooked I prepared the rest of the dishes.

Look at those beautiful ribeyes from Marin Sun Farms!

Here’s the Halibut.  As a side note, I usually don’t buy fish steaks like this but they were the best thing my fish guy had on hand.  I was actually surprised and how great they tasted!

And now, for the fun part!  Luckily I had a great wing man and photographer for this cook (no offense to Mrs. Esquire or women in general).  I’ll let the pictures do the talking.

Whew!  Lots of involved maneuvering over a 500 degree fire!  We had a great time with it, though.  There’s something very satisfying and primal about preparing four dishes over an open flame.  I’ll close the post out with more pictures.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About bbqesquire

I'm a Scandinavian Plaintiff's lawyer from Minnesota living in California. Despite that background, I've become a weekend warrior on my Big Green Egg. I've started this blog to share my successes, failures, and experiments with anyone who cares to read about them.

One response to “Four Dishes, One Egg”

  1. pdxhikertrash says :

    Yes, you need company to help you eat all that. Looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

