Pork Chops Part Deux

Well, the little guy joined us last week!  Mrs. Esquire and I are very happy to be parents.  Here’s hoping I’m able to keep going with this blog through the sleepless nights.

Today I want to write about pork chops.  I have to remind myself again that the point of this blog is to learn and grow with my Big Green Egg.  So, despite my previous post called Pork Chop Perfection, I’ve decided to change my strategy on pork chops.

I used to sear the pork chops on the cast iron grill then move them over to the half-moon stone to finish up.  The goal was to allow them to cook long enough without too much direct flame.

The process worked pretty well – most of the time.  About half the time, however, I ended up with dry chops.  Some of my issues probably resulted from overcooking.  But with such a low success rate I decided it was time to explore other options.

Last Saturday was my first cook as a dad.  I removed some nice thick CSA chops (no goat this month) from the freezer.  The new strategy was to grill them direct at a little lower temperature.

As an interesting side note and challenge, it was incredibly windy Saturday night.  I had to clamp everything down pretty tight to keep the temperature at about 350-375.  The wind forcing its way through the small openings stirred up quite a bit of smoke – a neat effect at a high temperature. The smoke added some nice flavor.

I cooked these pork chops for about 15 minutes at 350-375.  They turned out much better than my previous chops (also from the CSA, grilled only a week or two before).  Moist and delicious.

So there you have it.  I’ve officially refined my technique.

Tags: , ,

About bbqesquire

I'm a Scandinavian Plaintiff's lawyer from Minnesota living in California. Despite that background, I've become a weekend warrior on my Big Green Egg. I've started this blog to share my successes, failures, and experiments with anyone who cares to read about them.

2 responses to “Pork Chops Part Deux”

  1. Debbie says :

    Congratulations to Mr. Esquire and Mrs. Esquire! Welcome to the world of Green Egg, Baby Esquire! The pork chops look great.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Pork Chop Perfection « BBQ, Esquire - 03/20/2012

Leave a Reply

