Breakfast on the Griddle

Today I’m crossing over.  This is my first non-BGE post.

I don’t really bake or cook indoors – with one exception.  I’ve learned to love the griddle on our stove top.  It’s great for cooking breakfast.  I’m not BGE-obsessed with it, but I have had some good times with the griddle.

This morning I took a second run at breakfast sausage.  My meat CSA comes with five pounds of ground meat every month.  What better use for the ground meat than a little breakfast sausage?

Last weekend I used beef.  The core ingredient in my seasoning was a sample of chicken rub I had on hand.  The sausages were quite good.

This morning I wanted to put together a recipe I could repeat (i.e., that didn’t depend on a random rub).  I also wanted to mix in some pork.

I began by mixing together the following:

  • 2 tsp sage
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cracked pepper
  • ½ tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp rosemary

I added the spice rub to:

  • 2 tsp molasses
  • 2 pounds beef / pork

Since I wanted to experiment with the pork and beef, I kept a half pound of beef and a half pound of pork separate, and mixed together a half pound of each for combination sausage.

I’ve discovered that the secret to breakfast sausage is to make the patties really thin.  Otherwise they fatten up like hamburgers when they’re on the griddle.

If the patties are nice and thin, they only need 2-3 minutes per side.

After trying the beef, pork, and combo sausages, we decided we liked the pork sausages the best.  That’s probably a good thing, because I can think of many more uses for ground beef than ground pork.  Next time I might add a little more of a kick.

As long as I keep getting the meat CSA, these sausages will probably be in the weekend breakfast rotation!  Thanks for reading.

Tags: , ,

About bbqesquire

I'm a Scandinavian Plaintiff's lawyer from Minnesota living in California. Despite that background, I've become a weekend warrior on my Big Green Egg. I've started this blog to share my successes, failures, and experiments with anyone who cares to read about them.

Leave a Reply

