Surf and Turf and Sprouts

According to Mrs. Esquire, Sunday night’s dinner was our best in quite some time.  It was really quite simple, but so delicious!  Sometimes you just need to let the food speak.

We’ve been enjoying Brussels sprouts lately.  So for a side, I prepared Brussels sprouts and leeks in the redware.  I tossed them in olive oil and seasoned them with white pepper, garlic salt, and freshly ground five pepper blend.

I threw the Brussels sprouts on the big green egg first, for about 20 minutes at about 425.

The star of the dinner was a long shrimp and pineapple kabob.  I seasoned the shrimp quite simply as well: juice from one Meyer lemon, olive oil, salt, and cracked pepper.

Just for good measure, I threw on a small New York strip, seasoned with Montreal Steak seasoning.  Since my steak was quite thin, and my shrimp were, well, shrimp, the final portion of the cook was really quick.  I started the steak with a two-minute sear.  Then I flipped the steak and threw on the shrimp.  After two more minutes, I flipped the steak again and tried to flip the kabob around.  Turns out flipping a flexible kabob circling the grill is easier said than done.  After another minute I gave the steak one more flip and the kabob one more attempted flip.

I pulled the steak first and ran it upstairs, meaning the shrimp and the steak each got about six minutes at around 500 degrees.

The combination of the lemon juice and pineapple gave the shrimp such a fresh and delicious taste!  The quick, hot cook left the shrimp very tender and juicy.  Mrs. Esquire and I were really happy with the results.  Of course my steak was delicious, too.

As always, thanks for reading!

Recipe Recap – Brussels Sprouts

You’ll need Brussels sprouts, a leek, white pepper, cracked black pepper (or five pepper blend), garlic salt, olive oil.

Wash and dry Brussels sprouts.  Trim the knob off the end of each sprout and slice in half.  Slice leek in half lengthwise, then slice into 1/8 to 1/4 inch wide slices.  Toss sprouts and leeks in olive oil.  Season to taste with white pepper, cracked black pepper (or five pepper blend), and garlic salt.

Grill in redware or a stone at 400-450 degrees for about 20 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes.  Watch for char on the leeks and outer flakes of the Brussels sprouts.  Remove from heat when sprouts are tender and you’ve achieved sufficient char.

Tags: , , , ,

About bbqesquire

I'm a Scandinavian Plaintiff's lawyer from Minnesota living in California. Despite that background, I've become a weekend warrior on my Big Green Egg. I've started this blog to share my successes, failures, and experiments with anyone who cares to read about them.

4 responses to “Surf and Turf and Sprouts”

  1. griffinsgrub says :

    Looks great. Was that skewer a fire wire? I never seem to have problems flipping mine. I think I’m going to try your idea with the brussel sprouts. My wife loves them, I’m not sure I’ve ever really had them. Thanks for sharing.

    • bbqesquire says :

      You know, I’ve had the skewers for awhile so I’m not even sure what kind they are. It may have been a technique problem. I was feeling the pressure of the clock and didn’t want to spend too much time messing with them. Next time I’ll plan my moves better.

      Sprouts are also good with bacon if you want to ease into it!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. The Month of Goat « BBQ, Esquire - 02/05/2012

Leave a Reply

