Steak a la Marin

Mrs. Esquire and I returned this afternoon from a wonderful long weekend in western Marin County.  To drive through Point Reyes National Seashore is to be transported to a different time, maybe even a different world.  I always expect to see Hobbits running through the hills.  It is truly a blessing to have such an enchanting getaway within an hour of one of the greatest cities in the world.  The beauty of Northern California is part of what makes San Francisco such a great place to live!  (I have to remind myself of these things each month when I pay the mortgage).

No trip to Olema or Point Reyes Station is complete without a stop at the Marin Sun Farms butcher shop.  The cows freely roaming the hilly pastures of Marin County become the most delicious steaks you’ve ever eaten.

Today, I bought a bone-in rib eye.  I decided to go with a pepper-crusted preparation.

I brushed both sides with olive oil and sprinkled with sea salt.  I used a five peppercorn blend for the cracked pepper, which I spread on only one side.

I warmed the Big Green Egg up to 500 degrees and let the cast iron grill preheat for a good long time.  I sometimes lose patience at this point, but luckily for me Mrs. Esquire needed some extra time upstairs with the greens.  I started searing the steak, pepper side down, for about 2.5 minutes.  Then I flipped for another 2.5 on the other side.

I then gave the steak an additional three minutes on each side.

Mrs. Esquire had a few bites of my steak and supplemented her dinner with some pasta and vegetables.  A delicious end to a wonderful weekend!

Tags: , , , , ,

About bbqesquire

I'm a Scandinavian Plaintiff's lawyer from Minnesota living in California. Despite that background, I've become a weekend warrior on my Big Green Egg. I've started this blog to share my successes, failures, and experiments with anyone who cares to read about them.

Leave a Reply

