Another Weird Fish

One of the joys of living in the Mission is the easy access to unique foods.  Tonight I branched out again.

I stopped by my normal fish guy hoping to buy some salmon for the Big Green Egg.  Much to my dismay, his shop was closed!  Apparently their ice machine is broken.

No matter.  There’s another fish shop on my way home.  I’ve never tried it because it seems kind of sketchy.

So I strolled in tonight.  Not much selection in the case, but they had some nice looking fillets of Vietnamese barramundi.  Barra-what?  The guy assured me that barramundi is a delicious white fish similar to seabass.  His preparation tip was to keep it simple.

OK, so I’ll keep it simple.  I drizzled the fish with some olive oil, sprinkled some pink sea salt, clipped some fresh herbs from the garden, and topped it with some sliced lemons from our tree.

I grilled it over direct heat at about 425 for 20-25 minutes.

Here’s the final product.

So what do I think?  Like the Gasper Goo, I’m not a big fan.  I guess mystery white fish just isn’t my thing.  I’ve moved on to chips and salsa for the rest of the (DVR’ed) Punt and Kick Championship game.

Tags: , , , , ,

About bbqesquire

I'm a Scandinavian Plaintiff's lawyer from Minnesota living in California. Despite that background, I've become a weekend warrior on my Big Green Egg. I've started this blog to share my successes, failures, and experiments with anyone who cares to read about them.

One response to “Another Weird Fish”

  1. griffinsgrub says :

    I’ll have to try some Barra-what fish. Think I saw some last night at the store when I was looking at fish. I settled on some rainbow trout instead as I didn’t know what barra-what was.

Leave a Reply

