Life’s A Journey, Not A Destination

I’m having writer’s block.

I know I should write about the pulled pork I cooked up yesterday.  Instead, I’m just sitting here staring at a blank screen.

I’m hesitant to write because I haven’t arrived yet on my pulled pork.  Since I’m not completely satisfied with my product I’m not ready to put myself out there.

Mrs. Esquire is telling me to get over myself.  She says the pork tasted great and everyone liked it.

This blog is about the learning process, it’s about my personal growth with my Big Green Egg, and it’s about loving life and making good food.  But there’s something permanent and enduring about inking a pulled pork manifesto on the internet that I just can’t get past.

So I’m not going to talk process in this post.  Instead I’ll share some pictures and one little piece of the puzzle.

Here’s the main guest all rubbed down and ready to go.  I injected my pork for the first time:

Many hours later, I pulled that bad boy at halftime of the Lions-Saints game.  (Can anyone make a tackle?  Please?)

So there you go.

OK, so I will share this.  I’m zoning in on a three-phase North Carolina system.  You might call it the triangle offense of barbeque.  Here’s what I did this time:

Injection

  • ½ c. Apple Cider Vinegar
  • ¼ c white vinegar
  • ¼ c apple cider

Drip Pan

  • ½ c apple cider vinegar
  • ½ c white vinegar
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp tabasco
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tsp cracked black pepper

Sauce (warm in a saucepan prior to serving)

  • ½ c apple cider vinegar
  • ½ c white vinegar
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp tabasco
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tsp cracked black pepper
  • 1 tsp sugar

Here’s my thinking on the three phases.  1) Liquid only in the injection, to be easier on my tools.  I may add a little tabasco and cayenne next time.  2) No sugar in the drip pan, to prevent burning.  3) This is the full boat goodness for dipping or saucing.

I might up the volume on the drip pan and sauce next time.  The drip pan cooked up bone dry.  I ended up a little short on the sauce – but that could have been because I left it boiling on the stove while I watched the game.  Thank goodness Mrs. Esquire was around!

So there you have it.  Thanks for reading!

Follow-up Note:I’ve continued to revise and revamp this recipe, increasing the amount of apple cider vinegar and decreasing the heat in the sauce.  The day you stop learning is the day you stop living!

Tags: , , ,

About bbqesquire

I'm a Scandinavian Plaintiff's lawyer from Minnesota living in California. Despite that background, I've become a weekend warrior on my Big Green Egg. I've started this blog to share my successes, failures, and experiments with anyone who cares to read about them.

6 responses to “Life’s A Journey, Not A Destination”

  1. Christopher Sanderson says :

    Make that when I am down there in Spring!

  2. G Lee says :

    The Mrs is right (isn’t she always?) — the pulled pork was delicious! The Lions’ D? Not so much…

  3. David Phillips says :

    Mr. Esquire,

    I had the good fortune to eat some of the pulled pork you prepared on Saturday, and it was professional quality. Having lived in Memphis, my standards are ridiculously high for pork products.

    You’re closer than you think with the pulled pork. Having lived in both North Carolina (Durham, to be specific) and Memphis, I prefer Memphis-style BBQ, but your vinegar base was working for me.

  4. bbqesquire says :

    Thanks guys, glad you liked it. Part of my disappointment stemmed from those Whole Foods buns. I may scrap the bread in the future.

    Chris, you may just get your wish!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Pork for All « BBQ, Esquire - 05/10/2012
  2. Turducken « BBQ, Esquire - 12/23/2012

Leave a Reply

