Potato Skins

I often end up with piles of small potatoes from our C.S.A.  I alternate between making homemade chips in the oven and home fries in the redware on the grill.  Last night, I decided to try something new with the potatoes: potato skins.  A nice little appetizer to share with friends on a Saturday night.

I started by tossing the potatoes in olive oil and seasoning with black pepper, white pepper, and sea salt.

Then I set the Big Green Egg for indirect grilling and warmed it up to 450.  I grilled the potatoes for about 35 minutes.  I could have pulled them a little sooner – my temperature crept up to 500 and I left them on five minutes longer than I wanted.

While the potatoes were cooking I shredded some cheese and chopped up chives from the garden and some leftover Double Smoked Ham.  Funny story here – I was brainstorming with Mrs. Esquire about what toppings to use in the potato skins.  We decided that bacon would be good.  But we didn’t have any bacon in the house and I didn’t want to run to the store.  So we hemmed and hawed for a little bit . . . then we remembered that we had the leftover ham in the freezer!  So of course you don’t need to double smoke a ham before you can make these potato skins.  I’m sure bacon would work fine.  But the ham was really good in the potato skins.

Next, I sliced the potatoes in half and scooped out the centers with a melon baller.  I filled the skins with the ham then sprinkled cheese and chives on top.  I cooked them in a 350 degree oven for about ten minutes.

I would have liked to finish them on the Big Green Egg but circumstances prevented that.  Next time I will try finishing them on the BGE.  I do worry, however, that finishing them on the BGE will make the skins a little soggy.  By finishing them in the oven you’re guaranteed a nice, crispy skin.

Here’s the finished product:

Recipe Recap

Toss small potatoes with olive oil, white pepper, freshly ground black pepper, and sea salt.   Bring Big Green Egg to 450 degrees, set for indirect cooking.  Grill potatoes for 30 minutes, flipping once.

Allow potatoes to cool slightly.  Slice potatoes in half and scoop out a portion of the centers with a melon baller.  Fill with chopped ham or bacon.  Top with cheese and chives.  Cook in 350 degree oven for about 10 minutes, or until cheese is melted.  Serve with sour cream.

Tags: , , ,

About bbqesquire

I'm a Scandinavian Plaintiff's lawyer from Minnesota living in California. Despite that background, I've become a weekend warrior on my Big Green Egg. I've started this blog to share my successes, failures, and experiments with anyone who cares to read about them.

Leave a Reply

