Bacon. Beets. Battlestar Galactica.

If you read the title of this post and get the joke, we have the same taste in TV.  If not, prepare to be disappointed.  I have nothing to say about Battlestar Galactica.

I was out running errands yesterday and visited the butcher to place an order for the Holidays.  Dinner plans for the evening included beets on the Big Green Egg.  Since dinner has heavily vegetarian, Mrs. Esquire told me I could pick up some meat for the side (how backwards is that) if something caught my eye.

I usually grill my beets in olive oil in my Mexican Redware.  Given the invitation to add some meat to the meal, I decided I would grill them in bacon fat instead.  Everything is better with bacon, right?

I chopped up six slices of bacon and put them in a redware pan.  Then I chopped up some small beets and radishes from our CSA.

I put the bacon on the BGE first, cooking direct at about 450, for 10 minutes.  Then I pulled the pan off the grill, removed the bacon, and set the bacon aside.  It wasn’t completely done yet but that’s how I wanted it.

Next I tossed the beets and radishes into the bacon grease and back on to the fire at about 450 or 500.  I grilled the beets and radishes alone for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally for even cooking.

After the beets were cranking for a while, I added the bacon back in for about 10 minutes.  That was enough to complete the dish.

It was quite tasty.  Next time, I’ll use a little less bacon, to make the dish a little less offensive to the vegetable category.  But, it’s true.  Everything does taste better with bacon.

Tags: , ,

About bbqesquire

I'm a Scandinavian Plaintiff's lawyer from Minnesota living in California. Despite that background, I've become a weekend warrior on my Big Green Egg. I've started this blog to share my successes, failures, and experiments with anyone who cares to read about them.

One response to “Bacon. Beets. Battlestar Galactica.”

  1. Christopher Sanderson says :

    Very Disappointed. I am a huge Battlestar Galactica fan! I like beets too.

Leave a Reply

