New Toys

So EggtoberWest had its commercially-intended effect on me.  I bought four new things: two new side-wings for the Egg, a cast iron grill, and a raised grill extender.  I used three of the new toys tonight.

First, the new side wings.  These are awesome.  They look great and they are so functional!  Before I bought these, I was constantly juggling my food and tools.  No more – plenty of room now!

I also used my new cast iron grill tonight.  The cast iron grill is best used for short and hot grilling.  Tonight was steak and grilled onions – the perfect opportunity.  The grill did its job.  Solid grill lines, delicious quick and hot cooking, and a great final product.

One tip I picked up at EggtoberWest – set the cast iron grill crosswise on top of your porcelain coated grill.  This will prevent vegetables and other small items from falling through the grill.

So for tonight, I fired the egg up to 550.  I put the onions on first, grilling them for about 12-14 minutes total.  The steak stayed on for 8 minutes – 2 minutes then flip, twice on each side.  Flipping twice allows for criss-crossed grill marks if you want them.

I’m very happy with the new cast iron grill.  A delicious dinner on a night when I was home alone!

Tags: ,

About bbqesquire

I'm a Scandinavian Plaintiff's lawyer from Minnesota living in California. Despite that background, I've become a weekend warrior on my Big Green Egg. I've started this blog to share my successes, failures, and experiments with anyone who cares to read about them.

3 responses to “New Toys”

  1. Christopher Sanderson says :

    Man, you are having so much fun with that egg! Food looks great. I cannot wait to get back down to SF for a visit, and grilled food.

  2. griffinsgrub says :

    Never seen those ‘side wings” for the BGE. Those look pretty cool.

    • bbqesquire says :

      They’re new, Griffinsgrub! I’m sure they have a fancy name like “extra-long mahogony side bar” or something like that. I’m pretty happy with them. Thanks for checking out my blog.

Leave a Reply

