EggtoberWest – The Aftermath

We had a great time at EggtoberWest yesterday!  It was my first cooking festival.  I’d never prepared food for strangers like that.  Nor have I ever spent so much time talking to strangers about what I do on my Big Green Egg.  In another setting I might have been intimidated.  But the people at the festival – attendees and hosts alike – we’re so fun and laid back, it was easy for a novice like me to fit right in.

Mrs. Esquire prepared some signs for our tent, so BBQ Esquire was well represented.

As noted on the sign, I prepared my Belgian Beef Stew, from the Big Green Egg cookbook.  It was fun to talk people through the process – grilling the bacon, sauteing the vegetables, browning the beef, and simmering in the beer (you’ll have to buy the cookbook for the full recipe, sorry).


The stew was generally well received.  One skeptical gentleman asked my why I would bother making a stew on the Big Green Egg, since the pot has a lid.  It was a good question.  I told him the bacon, vegetables and beef saute in an open pan, which allows the flavors of the BGE to do their work.  Also, I like doing it because it’s a challenge.  It’s just fun to cook a stew on a grill!

After the stew was gone I grilled some beets and turnips in my redware.  Folks really liked those, too!

All in all, it was a great event!  A big thanks to the folks at Sierra Select Distributors for hosting!  Mrs. Esquire and I hope to return next year!

Tags: ,

About bbqesquire

I'm a Scandinavian Plaintiff's lawyer from Minnesota living in California. Despite that background, I've become a weekend warrior on my Big Green Egg. I've started this blog to share my successes, failures, and experiments with anyone who cares to read about them.

4 responses to “EggtoberWest – The Aftermath”

  1. Eric Marler says :

    I enjoyed cooking next to you. Watching you prepare and cook your food and the Mrs. doing all the decorations. See you there next year.
    Eric

  2. Bill says :

    I heard the food down at Billy Ray’s Cafe was awesome.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

