Roasted Garlic Tomato Sauce

I grilled up a very simple sauce today and it was delicious!  I’ll definitely make this one again! I used tomatoes from our garden, sweet peppers from our CSA, and garilc from our garden.

Peel 5-6 cloves of garlic.  Slice and seed 3-4 sweet peppers.  Wash 8-10 small tomatoes, but keep them whole.

Set the Big Green Egg for direct cooking and warm it up to 450.  Brush the peppers and tomatoes with olive oil.  Place the peeled garlic in your mexican redware (or other suitable dish) and pour olive oil into the dish.

Set the peppers, tomatoes, and garlic dish directly on the grill.  Grill for 3-4 minutes, then carefully flip tomatoes and peppers.  Grill 3-4 more minutes and flip the tomatoes and peppers again.

Your tomatoes will likely burst and ooze juice.  That’s OK.  Make sure you get some good char on the tomatoes and peppers.  Pull the tomatoes when they’re charred but not too shriveled, and the peppers when they have a good char on them.

The garlic may take a little longer than the other veggies.  Stir the garlic occassionally.  It should begin to fry in the pool of olive oil.

Continue to cook the garlic until it browns.

Let all three ingredients cool.  Drain excess water from the tomatoes.  Chop the peppers, tomatoes, and garlic.  Add a pinch of salt and pepper, and a squeeze of lemon juice.  Blend the ingredients in a blender.  Reheat in a saucepan immediately before serving.

The result is a smooth and smokey tomato sauce you can use on meat, pasta, sandwiches, or whatever else meets your fancy.  Enjoy!

Tags: , ,

About bbqesquire

I'm a Scandinavian Plaintiff's lawyer from Minnesota living in California. Despite that background, I've become a weekend warrior on my Big Green Egg. I've started this blog to share my successes, failures, and experiments with anyone who cares to read about them.

4 responses to “Roasted Garlic Tomato Sauce”

  1. Crotchless4eva says :

    Righteous website. I may be stealing some of your recipes. Now I just need to get the Egg.

    • bbqesquire says :

      Thank you, sir! You won’t regret it if you spring for a BGE. There’s no better way to spend a Saturday afternoon!

      • Higman32 says :

        This sauce looks awesome. Do you think Lisa and I can accomplish this with our oven? I have my doubts, but grilling just isn’t an option.

  2. bbqesquire says :

    Hmmmm, I don’t know Higman. I’d be running counter to my Big Green Egg ethos if I told you that the oven was an option! The key would be to find a way to get some char on your tomatoes and peppers. I’m no expert when it comes to inside cooking.

Leave a Reply

