Sizzling Salmon

I’m loving the redware!  I’ve never been a fan of cedar plank cooking. It seems a little cliché.  Or maybe I’m just too cheap to buy a one-time-use cooking apparatus.  If I want smoke, I can just throw in a few wood chips, right?  Given that I love to experiment, I’m sure I’ll give the plank a try sometime.  But in the meantime, the redware does the trick.

I prepared this salmon quite simply. Basically, I just drizzled it with lemon juice from our tree.  I cooked it hot and quick.  The key to fish, as we all know, is not to overcook it.  I don’t have a definitive time for cooking the salmon – I just took it off when it seemed done.  I love the way it sizzles!  It kind of reminds me of getting fajitas at a family Mexican restaurant.

Verdict on this one: good, not great.  Some at the dinner table thought it was a little too simple.  Next time I’ll use some capers, herbs from the garden, and lemons.  This was a good lesson.  The whiter fish can easily be overpowered by sauce and seasoning.  Salmon can stand up to a little bit more substance.  Even though it was just the fish, it was still great!

Tags: , ,

About bbqesquire

I'm a Scandinavian Plaintiff's lawyer from Minnesota living in California. Despite that background, I've become a weekend warrior on my Big Green Egg. I've started this blog to share my successes, failures, and experiments with anyone who cares to read about them.

Leave a Reply

